Infographic Tips for a Novice Designer

I enjoy visual storytelling, so I had a great time creating this infographic for a class assignment. The inspiration for my infographic comes from my passion for working with child abuse victims. My goal: raise awareness of child abuse in Oregon. I appreciate good design, but I am a novice designer so I came up with a few infographic tips for beginners.

  1. Start with your story. Take the time to brainstorm your ideas. Draw an outline to organize the information you want to include.
  1. Consider your audience. Who are you trying to reach? Infographics are a great tool to convey information visually to a broad audience and it’s important to think about your different readers. Consider your 3-second readers, 30-second readers and 3-minute readers.
  1. Balance. Be sure to balance the content of your infographic and think strategically about where to place the most important information. Select a complementary color palette and use colors that reinforce your story.
  1. Font is crucial. My favorite font right now is Coolvetica but I understand I can’t use it for every project. It’s important to choose a typeface that is versatile with a range of weights. This way you can use the same typeface throughout the infographic to give it a clean look while using variations of the font to emphasize and organize your content. I found the Ten Commandments of Typography helpful for selecting a typeface for my project.

There are countless resources out there you just have to take the time to find the information you need and think through your ideas. From this assignment I learned that content and style are equally important. Just as a well written story takes time, so too does an effective design.

Standard

Leave a Reply

